What's new

Stuff They Didn’t Tell Me At School

Advertisement Post 1

---Place your ad here---

I have been thinking about the few lessons I have mentally revised after my teenage. Turns out they are the things I always knew and frequently read at places, yet I never really gave much thought to them. I knew them all along, like some embedded binary code we all come with. Here’s my little list:

Is your glass half empty or half full? It’s all how you look at it. You can see the negativity in a situation and make it worse or you can choose to overlook the bad and let the positive drive you out of it. You choose your attitude, and your attitude determines how far you will go.

Nobody else can make you happy.

Your happiness is your own to create and keep. Your happiness is your own responsibility. Find it in the simple things around you rather than waiting for some big happiness to come knocking at your door. Put it this way: you can decide to be happy when you finally achieve your dream, or you can tell yourself you will enjoy it every step of the way and find happiness in the pursuit of your dream.

Love at first sight

People are more important than things. I have been too busy running after material things till I forgot how having a bond felt. I thought was self sufficient; I thought being successful meant having a great job; I thought  hoarding stuff would fill up the emptiness within. We live in a rigid world where every person carries in him a certain level of personal loneliness. Strange how we have so many social media network to link us all, yet all of us seem so disconnected. We’re connected 24/7 but tell me, when was the last time you had a heart to heart talk with someone? How many friends do you know back from school that you still hang out with?

They say failure is the stepping stone to success. Does that sound bookish? Think about it and you will realize it makes a definite sense. You attempt to do something but fail; the next time around you’re smarter. Don’t be too hard on yourself for failing. Rather, take the time to analyze where you went wrong and what you can do to improve this time. Make good use of the experience gained and you’ll turn your failure into being the ultimate success.

“Things that are hard to say are usually the most important.” Or so I read somewhere.

…Oh, and may I add, don’t forget to tell people what they mean to you. Don’t take them for granted, you never know when the chance will be forever gone. So it’s really important to SAY it!

Sometimes having a diploma  from a reputed college isn’t enough to guarantee you the job of your dreams. A lot of hard work and luck goes into it. Believing in luck seems harmless to me. It keeps me motivated when apparently nothing seems to be going my way. Sadly, I’ve seen some intelligent people jobless and some average people on good jobs. By the way, having a good job isn’t really a measure of success, is it?

Find your own God. Don’t let them tell you what to believe in. Also, don’t discriminate just because somebody believes in a different God than yours. Religion is every one’s personal business so let the differences be. Embrace your differences, there is something you can learn from every body.

Life lessons happen every day. You don’t need self help books or personal development websites. True they can get you started on thinking positively, but you have to open yourself to them. You need to sink in all the positive vibes around you. They come in so much abundance, they really do.

Fairy tales are still real. Whoever said fairy tales are for little girls only? It’s perfectly okay to dream a little and have faith in miracles. You have to believe a little, live a little, give a little to let the magic happen to you too.

I know my fairy tale is just round the corner, hiding some place, making me wait, making me anticipate. I have my fingers crossed and my eyes closed; I’m not peeking.

You are the author of your story. The books starts from now. Write yourself an amazing tale. Be the person you’ll be proud of when you’re older. This life is too awesome to be lived in any lesser way!

Good luck!

About mehreenfarhan (90 Articles)
20-something, semi-extraordinary, fashionably lazy, wife to an amazing guy, writer and dreamer, that's me!

Add a Comment

