What's new

Make Your Own 3D Design – Tutorial

Advertisement Post 1

---Place your ad here---

Hello friends! I bought two pieces of canvas a couple of weeks back intending to transition from water colors to oil colors. There was a time when I hated the idea of having to use water colors in my drawings thinking they are fit for toddlers only. But I was wrong. Water colors are endlessly fun and there is so much you can do with them with so many different techniques available. Coming back to my new canvas, I was discouraged when I rattled through my art supplies and found that the kind of oil paints I had required a thing or two more. Β And that's where I hit this new idea, and loved it already. Using my doodle pieces, I decided to make 3D patterns on canvas that were simple, yet a good way to cover my walls.

Before we begin, let me tempt you with what I ended up with. I like to think of a big picture before I start working towards it.

diy-make-your-own-wall-art-design

Looks tricky, doesn’t it? It’s very simple. Just follow these simple steps.

Things You Will Need: Canvas (size as required), 3D fabric outliner paint, drafting paper, soft lead pencil (e.g. the ones used for shading), eraser, tissue paper.

1. Drafting: Before you begin, make a rough draft of the design you want. I basically keep a small sketching pad and a pencil close at hand always. That way, if a design or pattern inspires me, I can scribble it down even when it comes completely unexpected. This is a great way of exercising your creative skills.

2. Canvas Type: I used a cotton based canvas for this experiment. The selection was completely a coincidence since I have no former work experience with it. Cotton simply seemed a neat option. You can go for some other canvas type if you’re familiar with it.

3. Penciling Your Design: Unless you’re confident about the steadiness of your hand at work, I recommend you always stick with a pencil as much as you can. That way you always have room to go back in and correct a mistake. Keep your drafted design from Step 1 in front of you to avoid errors. Use a light hand while applying pencil to the canvas; it will help with the use of eraser as well as the lead won’t show over the paint coat.

4. The Main Work

– Using 3D fabric outline paint, trace over your pencil work with a steady hand. Make sure to cover all lead area left by your pencil to give it a neat look.

– Depending upon the kind of design and the canvas size, you might want a thicker outline. Either make a second coat along the previous design’s lines or cut the paint tube’s nozzle for a thicker line.

– For better finishing, leave it to dry for at least 24 hours to ensure smear free design.

– Keep an extra tube of paint close at hand in case you run of it.

It’s simple but definitely requires a steady hand. This was my first attempt on a medium like this and so given the design pattern required a very smooth hand. Still I think I managed to pull off something decent. I gifted this design to a very good friend and she loved it.

You can use this technique for making bold symmetrical patterns of any style of your choice, or you can come come with something intricate and detailed too. It’s a fun effort. Try it and share your experience. Good luck!

About mehreenfarhan (90 Articles)
20-something, semi-extraordinary, fashionably lazy, wife to an amazing guy, writer and dreamer, that's me!

2 Comments on Make Your Own 3D Design – Tutorial

  1. Wish I was as good an artist as you πŸ™‚ lovely πŸ™‚

Add a Comment

