What's new

Grotesque – Three Word Wednesday

Advertisement Post 1

---Place your ad here---

large (1)To say he was grotesque would be an understatement. He was ugly to the core. The sight of him was revolting. If I ever saw him coming towards me, dread would tingle up my spine and I would make a frantic excuse to get out of his sight. His eyes on me made me feel dirty. No expression, no wonder crossed his ashen, earthy face. But then, it happened. In my uttermost pitiful days, lost of all the previous beauty and glory, deserted by friends, he stood by me. I realized my selfishness on that day; just because he was ugly, I took him for granted. I knew he will always be there for me because there was no other way for him to just be. I was the closest thing to a friend he knew so you can guess how unlucky he was at that. His strength of character sprang up from being always there. Night after night as I sat silent in his house, just to still ascertain I was the superior one of us, I seemed bent upon personifying every bit of evil and ugliness that I imagined him to possess. His kindness broke all my superficial ideas. I gave way to him, because he possessed a strength of character only good people had. I was ashamed of who I was and with the help of his generosity, I started mending my heart. Bit by bit. I learnt to look past all his apparent ugliness. His beauty of heart overcame all that he lacked. His nonchalant acceptance of me, a selfish brute like me, made me a changed person. I learnt to look past appearances. I learnt to value kindness, love and friendship. I learnt to find beauty.

Write up prompted at: Three Word Wednesday (grotesque, earthy, nonchalant)

About mehreenfarhan (90 Articles)
20-something, semi-extraordinary, fashionably lazy, wife to an amazing guy, writer and dreamer, that's me!

9 Comments on Grotesque – Three Word Wednesday

  1. some people are like this the goodness in side of them makes them exceptionally handsome. well expressed

  2. How well you have expressed the fact that friendship and faithfulness need no show of beauty, only trust.

  3. That was indeed nicely written 🙂 Liked it 🙂

  4. hypercryptical // September 26, 2013 at 9:28 pm // Reply

    A beautiful write, beautifully and thoughtfully composed. How true it is that we must learn to look passed the superficial and seek the soul within.
    Anna :o]

  5. Beautifully written. The line “I knew he will always be there for me because there was no other way for him to just be. I was the closest thing to a friend he knew so you can guess how unlucky he was at that.” just broke my heart. But I love that in the end there is also the joy in finding the true inner beauty of someone. Lovely story.

Add a Comment

